September 3 - September 8, 2023

Palais des congrès de Montréal
Montreal, Quebec, Canada

About IEEE IUS 2023

The 2023 IEEE International Ultrasonics Symposium will be the 61st edition of this conference and will be held on September 3-8, 2023 in Montreal, Canada at the Palais des congrès de Montréal. Montréal is famous for its special blend of international cultures and Euro-American charm. It is consistently ranked as one of the top host cities in the Americas for international meetings. 

As a satellite event for the 2023 IEEE International Ultrasonics Symposium, a one-day Symposium on Artificial Intelligence (AI) in Ultrasonics will be held on September 8, 2023 at the same venue. Montréal is internationally known as a hub for AI research and development with the largest AI academic community in the world.

Opening Plenary: “Deep Learning and the Challenge of Out-of-Distribution Generalization” by Professor Yoshua Bengio, University of Montreal, one of the founding fathers of deep learning and the recipient of the 2018 Turing Award.

Mark Your Calendars

Key Dates

  1. 2023-02-15

    Submission Open

  2. 2023-03-31

    Abstract Submission Deadline

  3. 2023-05-08

    Late-Breaking Abstract Submission Deadline

  4. 2023-05-22

    Author Notification

  5. 2023-08-15

    Proceedings Submission Deadline

Call for Papers

Abstracts should be submitted according to the information posted on the conference web page. Each abstract will receive careful review and evaluation by the symposium Technical Program Committee based on originality of the work, contribution to the state of the art and overall interest to the ultrasonics community. Papers are solicited describing original work in the field of ultrasonics.

Interest Areas

Current Topics

  • Group 1

    Medical Ultrasonics

  • Group 2

    Sensors, NDE & Industrial Applications

  • Group 3

    Physical Acoustics

  • Group 4

    Microacoustics – SAW, FBAR & MEMS

  • Group 5

    Transducers & Transducer Materials


Organizing Committee

  • Guy Cloutier

    General Chair

  • Elisa E. Konofagou

    General Chair

  • Ayache Bouakaz

    Finance Chair

  • Michael Kolios

    Finance Chair

  • Alfred Yu

    Technical Program Chair

  • Marvin M. Doyley

    Technical Program Chair

  • Jean Provost

    Satellite Symposium Chair

  • Dr. An Tang

    Université de Montréal, Montréal, Canada

    Satellite Symposium Chair

  • Damien Garcia

    Short Courses

  • Muyinatu A. Lediju Bell

    Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, United States

    Short Courses

  • Émilie Franceschini

    Communications Chair

  • François Yu

    Communications Chair

  • François Yu

    Hybrid Chair

  • Juan Tu

    Publicity And Web

  • Brandon Helfield

    Publicity And Web

  • Hassan Rivaz

    Concordia University, Montreal, Canada

    Exhibit/Industrial Engagement Chair

  • Caterina Gallippi

    Sponsor Chair

  • Arnaud Héroux

    Student Events

  • Muhammad Ashikuzzaman

    Student Events

  • Pierre Bélanger

    Local Arrangements

  • Louise Allard

    Local Arrangements

  • Bernhard Tittmann

    Awards (UFFC)

  • Hideyuki Hasegawa

    Publications Co-Chair

  • Steven Freear

    Publications Co-Chair

  • Juan Tu

    Women In Engineering

  • Haichong Zhang

    Diversity And Inclusion Chair